Travel Prep

The weeks sure are flying by!   We’ve had some sickness here this past week.  Eight out of 13 have been affected thus far.  Five of us are still holding out hope that we will escape.  Thankfully the sickness isn’t of long duration, but when it attacks one person at a time, it can take awhile to get through 13 people.  The sick ones have slept a good portion of the time and haven’t wanted to eat, so it would have been more convenient if we all got it at the same time preferably during the snowstorms.  That way we didn’t have to go anywhere and didn’t have to cook!  We could all hibernate for a day or two.  Of course, that is not real life.

I’ve started several lists to help me get organized and stay organized, but I still don’t feel on top of things.  There are so many other responsibilities to deal with.  Today it was taxes.  It’s a relief having them done and out of the way.  Getting that refund will also be a blessing!  I’ve gathered most of the paperwork we need to take with us and have started packing up the gifts for the girls.  Besides a special gift for each one, we are taking several crafts and games to do with them during our visiting time.  It will be quite interesting communicating with them since they don’t know English and we don’t know Russian.  I worked on learning Russian for several weeks, but the past two weeks it has had to take a back seat to other priorities.  I hope I don’t forget everything I learned.

I still need to learn how to use that I-pad.  Hopefully by the time we’re home I’ll have figured it out.  The kids are hoping I figure it out before then so they can communicate with us while we are away.  It’s going to be difficult leaving them all behind for a couple of weeks.  We’ve never been away from them longer than a few days at a time.  Thankfully there are plenty of older ones to take charge and make sure things continue to run smoothly.  I’m sure they will all work together well.

I’ve been looking at this computer a little too long today.  My head is starting to ache.  I’d better move on to something else before I can’t see straight.  Now where are those lists?

6 thoughts on “Travel Prep

  1. We are happy for you guys. Finally you will be going… and looking forward to meeting the girls. God’s blessing on the trip.

  2. Hope everyone is doing well. So wonderful your family doing crafting! I think Simeon’ s idea with the Gift Boxes was very creative. It feels everything is made with love.
    I am following your journey.
    Have a blessed weekend!

  3. I’m so excited for you all! I know your probably close to leaving or already on your way but I wanted to say I’m praying for you. You don’t know me but I chatted with your daughter-in-law on fb when announced you were adopting & had been meaning to get ahold of you via email. I was “Brandis” guardian angel warrior & am so happy to see her have a family. I have been praying for her to find a family for awhile now & have written about her on my blog before. Looking forward to seeing pictures of the girls! 🙂

  4. Praying for your family and for your adoption journey……
    May our Lord bless you with His care, His wisdom , love , good friends and safety during your stay in that beautiful country.
    We have adopted twice from Ukraine, our last adoption was through RR from Odessa in October 2013.
    God bless you,
    Ines Wallace (from Fort Myers , FL)

  5. I’m so excited to read more about your adoption journey! I have loved and prayed for Anastasia for years. I would have brought her home myself, but I’m single. And now I am SO GLAD to see she is going home to your family! May God protect you in your travels and your journey of becoming a (bigger) family!

Leave a Reply

