Traveling Soon!

This is the third time I have started to write a post and there just wasn’t time to do it justice.  I’ll give it another try.  Our biggest news is that we have received our travel dates! God has also blessed us with traveling companions who live less than an hour from us and are adopting from the same country.  We are excited about that!

There is much to do to get ready.  I’m already experiencing information overload.  I am a list person and my lists are not written as yet, so the preparation seems formidable.  Tomorrow my goal is to sit down and organize all the information, forming check-off lists so I have less chance of forgetting something important.  I still have some shopping to do which should probably be done before the big snow comes that is predicted for Thursday.

Today I finally finished the quilt and made up the fourth bed.  It feels good to have that project completed.  Now if the other projects were only so stress-free.  I still have to learn how to use an I-pad so that we can keep in contact with the family while we are away.  Learning to use today’s technology is physically, mentally, and emotionally draining!  Why just last week, my upper back and shoulders were so tight after sitting at the computer booking our train and flight tickets, that I could barely move without pain.  I determined that it was due to stress for now I am feeling fine.  This adoption has really stretched me technologically.  I’ve experienced a lot of firsts:  scanning and attaching documents to emails, booking travel tickets online, using Facebook (still don’t know what I’m doing with that), and setting up the I-pad (I actually just watched.)

Tonight I decided to learn something less technical, so I sat down with a rainbow loom to practice making rubber band bracelets.  I’m taking a couple looms with me to give to the girls and to have something to do while we are visiting them.  Less technical?!  What a joke!  The printed directions are microscopic making them difficult to read.  “Find the other Band that connects Posts 35 & 38.  Pick the end of that Band that is around Post 38 and loop it over Post 34.”  What?  Which one is 34?  I have to consult the chart.  It would have been nice if the loom itself was numbered.  I managed to get to the “finishing off” section, but when the bracelet fell apart as soon as I removed it from the loom, I decided I did something wrong.  Maybe I was rushing a little too much.  My dad always said, “If at first you don’t succeed, read the directions!”  Thanks, Daddy.  Maybe I’ll try again tomorrow.  Or maybe I’ll just give them to the girls and get them to teach me!

2 thoughts on “Traveling Soon!

  1. WOW! I did not realize you would be traveling so soon! Don’t sweat it if your lists don’t work out. God’s in control. 🙂 A friend of mine once said “If you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans.” Be prepared for lots of unexpected things that will challenge you, bless you and grow you. You are not alone. God is with you and lots of people are praying for you! I have seen God move so many mountains on adoption journeys. He will do the same for you and your family. 🙂

    I don’t know if you speak any Russian, but, there is a great, and free, app called BUSUU which you can download to your mobile device or use on the web. It is a language learning app. You won’t be fluent in Russian, but at least you can learn the basics like “Please” (Pajalsta) “Thank You” (Spasiba) “No” (Nyet) and “Yes” (Da). Generally speaking, kids will pick it up faster than adults.

    Please keep us all posted on your journey and we are praying for you all.

  2. When will I ever learn that God is quite capable of providing what is seemingly impossible (in my mind) in answer to my prayers? Even though I know that our daughter & son-in-law have handled many overseas flights quite well, I was praying that they would not have to travel alone on their adoption journey. Putting myself in that position, I would have longed for the support of someone else going through the same circumstances. But, I kept telling myself my wishes were practically impossible . . . what were the chances that someone else adopting from the same country would live in our state, much less get the same travel dates. Well, PTL, the answer was that they have been blessed with traveling companions, not only on the flight, but from the local train station to the airport! Better than I ever imagined! I’m enjoying reading your blog & will be anxiously awaiting your updates to see how things are going. We will certainly be praying for you and your family as you continue on this journey. As excited as we are to meet our grandson, I can’t imagine how you must feel to be adding four children to your family. I’m like you . . . I would need my lists!!

Leave a Reply

