Still Waiting and Hoping

If laughter relieves stress, I could use some right about now.  But perhaps what I need the most is prayer.  All of our financial documents arrived on the USCIS officer’s desk last Wednesday, but USCIS would not count some of the documents as assets unless we jumped a few more hoops.  Because our retirement annuity has a death benefit value for spousal protection, USCIS needs proof that the annuity can be cashed out now, not just when one of us dies, and they need to know its cash value.  The company holding the annuity was to have faxed a letter to USCIS yesterday, but as of a few minutes ago, USCIS had not received the fax.  I immediately called about the promised letter, but the person I need to speak with is in a meeting, but should be returning my call in the next couple of hours.  We need this letter in order to meet the income requirement for adoption and receive our USCIS approval.

I am trying to remain patient with all of these “delays” because I know that God is in control of every aspect of my life.  None of this is a surprise to Him.  I know in my head that God has a purpose in all of this.  I only wish that my emotions would recognize it and keep pace with my head.  Right now I am remembering some verses from Psalms 42 and 43.  Three times in these two chapters the psalmist says, “Why are you in despair, O my soul?  And why have you become disturbed within me?”   Three times he answers, “Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him for the help of His presence.”  “Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him, the help of my countenance, and my God.”  “Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him, the help of my countenance, and my God.”

Thank you, Lord, for this reminder.  I needed it.

Leave a Reply

