Hope, Wait, and Rest

We are still waiting for our USCIS approval.  What was supposed to be a day or two wait has now stretched into a week and a half.  After contacting USCIS on Monday, we learned that we are to expect a request for evidence letter in the mail.  When I asked what evidence was needed, I was told that it was for assessment of finances.  Apparently having 11 children at home and requesting approval to adopt additional children warrants more substantial evidence of our financial stability than what the home study provides.  We now need to make and send copies of our financial records, and we need to show that some of our children are indeed self-supporting.  I have gathered the documents and am waiting for the expected letter to arrive to make sure I am including everything that has been requested.  The letter was sent on Friday and today is Wednesday.  It has not arrived as yet.  Maybe tomorrow will be the day.

I still believe that there are no delays in this adoption process.  God is orchestrating everything according to His plan.  It does not mean that I am feeling no emotion in regard to the wait.  Today has been a very emotional day.  I have been on the verge of tears several times.  I have been very unmotivated to do school or anything else that I know I need to do.  Maybe I am just tired.  Maybe the cold house is getting to me.  (Our furnace would not start last week and today was the first day anyone could come to check it.  Now we need to wait for a part to fix it and we have no timetable on that.)  Whatever the case, tonight I found myself in need of encouragement from the Lord.  I took myself to my room and found my quiet place on the floor at the foot of my bed.  It was here that I cried out to the Lord and He reassured me that He is working on my behalf.  I often read from Daily Light on the Daily Path.  Today’s reading was this (emphasis mine):

“It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the Lord.–Hath God forgotten to be gracious?  hath he in anger shut up his tender mercies?–I said in my haste, I am cut off from before thine eyes:  nevertheless thou heardest the voice of my supplications when I cried unto thee.–Shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry day and night unto him, though he bear long with them?  I tell you that he will avenge them speedily.–Wait on the Lord, and he shall save thee.–Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him:  fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.–Ye shall not need to fight in this battle:  set yourselves, stand ye still, and see the salvation of the Lord.–Let us not be weary in well doing:…in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.–Behold, the husbandman waiteth for the precious fruit of the earth, and hath long patience for it, until he receive the early and latter rain.”  (Lam. 3:26; Ps. 77:9.–Ps. 31:22; Luke 18:7,8.–Pr. 20:22.–Ps.37:7; 2 Chr. 20:17; Gal. 6:9.–Jas. 5:7.)

After reading this, the tears that were threatening to come all day, came.   What a sweet release!  What a God I serve!  He is my hope.  He is my strength.  He is my salvation.  I will rest in Him while I wait.  I will not fret.  I will trust.  Thank you, Father.

2 thoughts on “Hope, Wait, and Rest

  1. What a wonderful reminder for us all, Linda…to rest in our faithful God. Thank you for sharing. He indeed is in the midst of this new journey for you and Jim and the whole family. His timing is always perfect.

    Love to all of you,

    Susan & Chuck

Leave a Reply

