Waiting Again!

Has it really been almost 2 weeks since I last posted?  And I thought time didn’t fly when you were waiting for something!  We expected to have travel dates by this time, but that infamous phone call hasn’t yet come.  For a week or so, I jumped every time the phone rang.  I imagine I will be surprised when it finally does come.

Jim has finished building the beds and they are now in place.  Mattresses and bedding have been purchased and 3 of the beds are made up.  The fourth will be made up as soon as I finish the quilt.  I actually haven’t even started it, but it shouldn’t take too long as it is not a pieced quilt.  I’m taking the easy route by placing batting in between 2 bed sheets and machine quilting the layers together.  Fifteen years or so ago, when we lived in Nebraska, I bought plaid sheets with coordinating colors to make bedspreads for the children for Christmas.   At that time we had 4 boys and 4 girls and were expecting another baby.  I bought pastel plaids for the girls and dark plaids for the boys and added an extra of each since I didn’t know if we were having a boy or a girl.  We had a boy, so the extra dark plaid was eventually utilized.  That son was followed by 3 more sons, so the pastel plaid never did get used.  It has been sitting in the closet all this time.  Today I bought a scrumptious-looking, bubble-gum-pink sheet that perfectly matches the plaid.  Putting this quilt together will be my project for next week.  As soon as everything is done, I will post some new pictures of the rooms.

We are trying to get travel items together, so we will be ready when the call comes.  Although I grew up in family that did a lot of flying, it has been 25 years since I have been in an airplane!  Yikes!  I hear things have changed quite a bit since that time, especially regarding security.  We shall soon see how different it is from what I remember.

Daily I am reminded that God is in control of this adoption.  Everything is moving according to His timing and that is good.  I am resting in the assurance that He knows what is best and will do what is right.  I don’t have to be anxious or fearful.  It doesn’t mean that I don’t get anxious at times.  It means I don’t need to be.  As long as I cling to my Father and keep my eyes on Him, my heart is at peace.

2 thoughts on “Waiting Again!

  1. SO excited! I will be praying for you all. I felt like praying did not help, like my words were bouncing off the ceiling, like it was time to quit praying for kids I will never meet half a world away in desperate circumstances and there are SO many in need. Why should I keep praying? Why care? What difference does it make? Then one click led to another, then to another, then I see your wonderful news! Your decision to trust God and begin the path to adopt 4 kids absolutely brought tears to my eyes. 🙂 I have dusted off my armor, put my helmet back on, picked up my shield of faith again and my sword of the Spirit! With God’s help, I will stand firm, shoulder to shoulder with others who are praying and pray daily for your journey.

    • Thank you so much for your prayers. We may never know how much is accomplished through our prayers, but I’m thankful for little glimpses that show God is working on my behalf through the prayers of people I’ve never met.

Leave a comment